Interstaters Head West For Australian Championship

By Phil Michell Motorsport Media

In addition to the drivers already covered the previous release the 2020 Australian Wingless Sprint Championship at the Watson’s Express Kalgoorlie Speedway will also see several other interstate drivers in the current 31 driver nomination list.

The Father and Son duo of Peter and Wayne Logue will make yet another multi-car Family team making the journey west.

Victorian veteran Peter Logue is of course no stranger to winning Australian Championships having won a couple of Super Sedan National Titles, but the Wingless Sprint is a completely different proposition. Peter managed to grab a feature win over Christmas at the Rosedale Speedway along with a recent top 10 in the Victorian series at the Avalon Raceway.

Son Wayne is a regular competitor throughout Victoria, especially the Gippsland venues. At his most recent outing at Avalon he just missed top 10 in strong A-Main line-up. Peter and Wayne Logue will head to Western Australia with the support of Cheap Tyre Morwell and Torque Gas.

Glen Watts, the 2016/17 Victorian Wingless Sprint State Champion will team up with car owner Geoff Cook in the Lightning McQueen #95 in an attempt to add the Australian Championship to his resume.  Over the years Watts has proven to be a tough campaigner with his Championship winning year also including Victorian Series wins at Mount Gambier’s Borderline Speedway and Hamilton’s Western Speedway, the same venue he claimed his Victorian Championship.

Mount Gambier’s Mitchell Broome is the sole South Australian on the entry list, but he must be considered a big chance at the Australian Championship. Broome has been in outstanding form this season and is a multiple feature winner already. He won the season opener at Murray Bridge, claimed the Bordertown SA State Series round and won the Invitational at the Avalon Raceway. He has also picked up podium finishes at Murray Bridge, Portland and Avalon so is used to running up front in his #35 MG Plasters supported machine.

New South Wales racer Troy Carey is no stranger to travelling as he is a regular visitor to the Northline Speedway in Darwin during the winter months. While racing in the NT he has captured multiple feature race victories including the Northern Territory State Title. He is a regular competitor at the Valvoline Raceway in Sydney so he is used to racing against the toughest competition in Australia week after week and will go into the Championship as a serious threat to capture the Australia #1.

Although he isn’t an interstate competitor Western Australian Sam Borlini will team up with Northern Territorian Brett Sommerville to pilot the Total Tools supported NT#7. Borlini competed in a 360ci Sprintcar at Kalgoorlie last season recording a seventh placing in the Australian Championship. Sommerville himself is a former podium place getter in the Northern Territory State Title, back in the 2015/16 season.

The Australian Wingless Sprint Championship will take place at the Watson’s Express Kalgoorlie Speedway between February 28 and March 1, 2020.

Release By Phil Michell Motorsport Media for AWSR

Ends Release…

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search