Heinrich Waikerie
Heinrich Wins On Waikerie Debut

By Phil Michell Motorsport Media

A very competitive field of Wingless Sprints from across South Australia and Victoria rolled into the Sunline Speedway at Waikerie last Saturday night to contest the venue’s opening night of the season and after an entertaining 20 lap finale it was Joel Heinrich who emerged as the race winner.

Following a heat win and a fourth from his two heat races Heinrich went into the race as one of the favourites and he didn’t disappoint as he led the entire race distance and he went on to win ahead of Matthew Kennedy and Jake Ashworth.

Fourth place went to Brad Evans, who was impressive all night, with William Caruso, Roydn Bailey, who was making his first start of the season, Michael Spoljaric, Greg Cunningham, Ben Harris and Lucy Evans rounding out the top ten.

Current Australian Champion Joel Chadwick was lucky to take the green in the A-Main after his engine had a major misfire during the roll around laps and he would retire after only a handful of laps.

Earlier the “Joel’s” clean swept the heat races with Chadwick winning both of his heat races with Heinrich winning the other.

One pleasing aspect of the night was the fact that two new drivers took to track for the first time with Mildura youngster Jordon Bolitho and Mick Baker making their debuts with cars being beautifully presented, especially Baker’s #77 black and green Cool.

Another strong line-up of 15 drivers will contest the next Wingless SA event at the Murray Bridge Speedway this Saturday night (February 24) with last start Murray Bridge winner Anthony Tapley returning along with Matthew Kennedy, Brett Ireland, Jake Ashworth, Brad Evans, Spencer Taylor and Victorians Nic Green, Jay Brown and Anthony McMillan.

Nominations – Saturday 24th February 2018, Murray Bridge Speedway: S2 Jake Ashworth, S9 Ben Harris, S10 William Caruso, S21 Matthew Kennedy, S33 Brad Evans, S37 Anthony McMillan, S46 Spencer Taylor, S47 Anthony Tapley, S51 Jay Brown, S52 Jordon Bolitho (ROF), V61 Nic Green, S71 Brett Ireland, S73 Melissa McMillan, S80 David Cuppleditch, S82 Greg Cunningham

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search