The Easter long weekend saw the Victorian Wingless Sprints contest the final two rounds of the Autobarn Eastern Challenge, along with the Gary Bowden Memorial Cup, over two huge nights of racing at Rosedale Speedway and Bairnsdale Speedway.

While it was Tony Moule who claimed top honours in the penultimate Autobarn Eastern Challenge round on Good Friday at the Rosedale venue, it was Travis Millar who drove to victory the following night at Bairnsdale Speedway, with his performance throughout both nights allowing him to consolidate his lead and wrap up the overall Eastern Challenge point standings, as well as taking out the Gary Bowden Memorial Cup.

0000 - Travis Millar AWSR

Photo: CBM Photography

Lining up in pole position for the 20-lap feature race on Friday night, Moule was an unstoppable force, seizing the lead at the drop of the green flag and holding on to it to take a commanding victory. Improving one place on his starting position, Nic Green greeted the chequered flag in the runner-up spot, ahead of Travis Millar in the Fitzpatrick Autosport Vic # 2 machine, who put in a stellar performance, which saw him charge his way forward from ninth to complete the podium.

Also powering through the field, Liam Atkinson managed to pass six of his rivals to finish just off the podium in fourth, with Samantha Millar, Peter Logue, Adin Robertson, Dayn Bentvelzen, Ebony Hobson and Travis Evans rounding out the top 10. Travis Bergmeier, Aron Lawrence, Todd Hobson (who was running in podium contention early on before contact with another competitor saw him sent to the rear of the field due to being deemed the primary cause, Glen Harris and Brittany Kuypers completed the remaining finishers.

Having started on the outside of the front row, Bergmeier was lucky to finish inside the top 10, as was Bentvelzen, after both drivers were relegated to the rear of field, along with Todd Hobson, due to an earlier racing incident.

Due to a range of issues, Te-arni Perkins, Jaidyn Job, Wayne Logue, Wayne Hurford, Ricky Mills and Scott Irons were all forced to retire.

Earlier in the night, the heat-race wins went the way of Samantha Millar (Travis’s sister), Ricky Mills (x 2), Travis Millar, Moule and Hurford.

In the final round of the Autobarn Eastern Challenge and night two of the Gary Bowden Memorial Cup the following night at Bairnsdale Speedway, it was Travis Millar who occupied pole position in his Millar Racing Vic # 93 car for the 25-lap feature race; a position which proved too much of an advantage for his rivals, who were unable to reel him in, with Millar going flag to flag to take the victory and solidify his Eastern Challenge lead.

Making amends for his challenging performance the previous night, Todd Hobson managed to clinch the runner-up spot, ahead of Liam Atkinson in third, while Adin Robertson and Wayne Hurford crossed the finish line in fourth and fifth place respectively. Rounding out the remaining finishers were Peter Logue, Dayn Bentvelzen, Wayne Logue, Ricky Mills, Aron Lawrence, Scott Irons, Tony Moule, Nic Green, Travis Evans and Ebony Hobson.

After contact between Moule, Ebony Hobson and Wayne Logue while Moule was working his way through the field, all three drivers were sent to the rear of field, with Wayne Logue impressively managing to salvage an eighth-place finish.

Unfortunately for Travis Bergmeier, an electrical issue while waiting to start the feature race forced him to retire to the infield, recording a DNS, while Glen Harris and Brittany Kuypers each had their nights brought to a premature end.

The earlier heat-race action saw wins shared between Atkinson, Wayne Logue, Moule, Peter Logue, Ebony Hobson and Irons.

The next appearance for the Wingless Sprints in Victoria will be a club show at Nyora Raceway this Sunday, in conjunction with the opening round of the Salt Electrical Ladies Race, which will take place over two rounds.

For more information about the Victorian Wingless Sprints, visit their website at You can also LIKE them on Facebook by searching Victorian AWSR Wingless Sprintcars.

Final Autobarn Eastern Challenge Point Standings:

  1. Travis Millar – 1257 points
  2. Peter Logue – 1134
  3. Dayn Bentvelzen – 1089
  4. Wayne Logue – 964
  5. Ebony Hobson – 958
  6. Tony Moule – 825
  7. Adin Robertson – 801
  8. Nic Green – 755
  9. Wayne Hurford – 732
  10. Ricky Mills – 681

Final Gary Bowden Memorial Point Standings:

  1. Travis Millar – 641 points
  2. Liam Atkinson – 577
  3. Tony Moule – 555
  4. Adin Robertson – 541
  5. Peter Logue – 527
  6. Todd Hobson – 512
  7. Nic Green – 502
  8. Dayn Bentvelzen – 490
  9. Aron Lawrence – 404
  10. Ebony Hobson – 397

Rosedale Contingency Winners:

D&F Racing Products Hard Luck Award: Ricky Mills

Motorsport Haulers Haulin’ Arse Award: Liam Atkinson

Bairnsdale Contingency Winners:

D&F Racing Products Hard Luck Award: Travis Bergmeier

Motorsport Haulers Haulin’ Arse Award: Brittany Kuypers

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search