A strong field of 48 home state and four South Australian contenders are gearing up to head to Simpson Speedway, where they will all be vying for the top honours in this Saturday night’s The Tyre Factory – Warrnambool supported Victorian Wingless Sprints Title.

Simpson Speedway cropped

Heading the 52-car line-up for the Victorian Title, which includes a mixture of youth and experience, is defending champion Glenn Watts.

Watts, who won last season’s Victorian Title at Hamilton’s Western Speedway by leading from start to finish, is coming off a second place in last Saturday night’s latest autObarn Super Series round at Warrnambool’s Premier Speedway and is full of confidence for a successful Victorian Title defence.

Glenn Watts 1 - Robert Lake Photography cropped

Photo: Robert Lake Photography

Another strong chance will be the man Watts finished second to on Saturday night, defending autObarn Super Series Champion Luke Weel. Weel is looking to make amends from last year’s Victorian Title, where a spin while challenging Watts for the lead cost him the top spot and he went on to finish just off the podium in a disappointing fourth.

Last season’s Victorian Title surprise packet was Michael Skene, who had qualified on the outside of the front row for the feature race and then went on to finish in fifth place. There’s no doubt that Skene is looking for a repeat of that performance by finishing a bit higher.

After finishing sixth in the recent Australian Championship, Travis Millar carries a fair bit of confidence into this season’s Victorian Title and is going to be one to challenge at the pointy-end of the field. In last season’s event, he ended up sixth.

The Storer brothers, Daniel and Luke, head into the Victorian Title with good form on their side. Daniel is the current autObarn Super Series point standings leader and is one of the front-running Victorian Title contenders, while Luke carries a lot of confidence into the event following his season-best finish of third in last Saturday night’s autObarn Super Series round.

2018-awsr-vic-titleV2 cropped

Other Victorian Title contenders are likely to be Dayn Bentvelzen, youngsters Todd Hobson, Ben Doukas and Alex Ross, Michael McDonald, locals Matthew Balcombe and Mathew Symons, veteran Peter Logue and his son Wayne, another veteran in Tony Moule, last season’s Victorian Title 10th place finisher Jeremy Beddison, Mick Parry and Clint McLaren.

Carly Walsh, who finished 11th in last season’s Victorian Title, and Bianca Klemm are going to be flying the flag for the ladies and are most certainly not to be taken lightly.

Looking to take the Victorian Title west to South Australia will be Mitchell Broome who finished an impressive eighth in last season’s running of the event, along with the Beasley brothers Travis and Brad, and Trent Gravestock.

The format for this season’s Victorian Title will see the drivers compete in three rounds of heat races each ahead of the C main, B main and the Victorian Title deciding feature race.

For the second season in a row, the Victorian Title is proudly supported by The Tyre Factory – Warrnambool. To find out more about The Tyre Factory – Warrnambool, visit their website at www.ttf.com.au or LIKE them on Facebook by searching The Tyre Factory Warrnambool. The Tyre Factory – Warrnambool is owned by Victorian Title entrant Geoff Cook.

Geoff Cook - WS - Robert Lake Photography cropped

Photo: Robert Lake Photography

2018 Victorian Title Nominations:

VX2 Robert Whiteside

V2 Travis Millar

VX4 Jaidyn Job

V4 Carly Walsh

S4 Travis Beasley

V7 David Alford

V9 Dayn Bentvelzen

V10 Peter Merrett

V11 Mathew Symons

V14 Alex Ross

VX14 Shaun Lyness

V16 Wayne Logue

VX17 Warren Sell

V20 Thomas McDonald

V23 Mathew Balcombe

V24 Michael Lovell

V26 Luke Schneider

V28 Luke Weel

V30 Tony Moule

V31 Mick Rigby

V33 Luke Storer

S35 Mitchell Broome

V35 Glenn Watts

V36 David Cook

V43 Daniel Storer

VX46 Michael McDonald

V48 Michael Skene

V49 Ross Jarred

V50 Robert Stevenson

V52 Scott Irons

V54 Jeremy Beddison

V55 Luke Tuckett

V60 Steven Hateley

V66 Marc Evans

V67 Chris Halesworth

VX69 John Rotheram

S69 Brad Beasley

V70 Aron Lawrence

V72 Tyson Bartlett

VX77 Travis Evans

V77 Alex Thomson

V79 Clint McLaren

V81 Matt Bartlett

V83 Todd Hobson

S85 Trent Gravestock

VX90 Daniel Kelly

V91 Bianca Klemm

VX91 Ben Pollansky

V92 Raymond Klemm

V95 Geoff Cook

V98 Peter Logue

VX98 Ben Doukas


For further AWSR information, visit their website at www.awsr.com.au or LIKE them on Facebook or follow them on Instagram and Twitter by searching Australian Wingless Sprint Racing.



Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search