It was a case of ladies first in the Wingless Sprints last Saturday night at Nyora Speedway, with Carly Walsh dominating the opening round of the Salt Electrical Ladies of the Dirt Series and Samantha Millar coming out on top in the Open feature race.

In only her second season in Wingless Sprints, Walsh, aged 18, proved too strong for her rivals, while Millar, who finished second behind Walsh, managed to go one better in the Open feature race.

Following a heat-race win, Walsh started on the outside of the front row, alongside defending and two-time Ladies of the Dirt Series Champion Samantha Millar, who was also victorious in a heat race, for the feature race.

Carly Walsh - Ladies of the dirt cropped

At the drop of the green flag, Walsh got the jump over Millar. Despite having Millar shadowing her throughout the 15-lap event, Walsh proved too strong for Millar and the rest of the field.

Millar, who is the sister of current Victorian Wingless Sprint Champion Travis Millar, was always in winning contention during the feature race, but ultimately, she couldn’t execute a race-winning pass and had to settle for second.

Completing the podium finishers was Bree Hall in third place. After performing strongly throughout the event, Hall managed to score a well-deserved podium finish. It was an overall good night for Hall, after she had earlier in the night enjoyed the thrill of picking up her maiden heat-race victory.

The remainder of the feature-race finishers were Rachel Cooper, Alisha Fielder and Belle Robinson. Kim Abbott was an unfortunate non-starter for the feature race, due to dramas during the heat races.

In the Open feature race, many of the Ladies of the Dirt Series competitors performed double duties, which included Millar. Fresh from her runner-up finish in the Ladies of the Dirt Series feature race, Millar was the stand out in the Open feature race and came away with the win.

Despite their best efforts, Todd Hobson and Marc Evans were unable to deny Millar of the win and had to settle for second and third place on the podium.

Behind the podium finishers in fourth was Michael Skene, followed by Bree Hall, Jordan Abbott, Chris Temby, Jason Andreatta, Ben Grey and Glen Harris in 10th. Luke Schneider, Aron Lawrence, Evan O’Bryan and Rachel Cooper completed the remainder of the finishers.

Scott Irons, Gavin Fitzpatrick and Michael Lovell were unfortunate non-finishers in the feature race.

The second Salt Electrical Ladies of the Dirt Series round will take place this Saturday night (April 28) at Laang Speedway. There will also be a 50 lapper for the Open class.

The Salt Electrical Ladies of the Dirt Series is a proud community supporter of the National Breast Cancer Foundation. Donations can be made at

For more information about the Victorian Wingless Sprints, visit their website at You can also LIKE them on Facebook by searching Victorian AWSR Wingless Sprintcars.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search