Dean Thomas led every lap of the main event to record another Valvoline Raceway victory on Saturday night.

Taking full advantage of a front row start, Thomas survived a number of restarts to take the win, his first in season 2017/18.

Thomas defeated Daniel Flood who started the main event from position five and fellow front row starter Jason Davis placed third. Davis was holding onto second until around mid-race distance when Flood made his move into second.

Although the race for the lead was all one way traffic, the battle for mid-pack honours was terrific. At one stage, around fifteen cars were battling for the minor positions and no one giving an inch. It made for great viewing.

Unfortunately for top qualifier Leighton O’Brien, his race only lasted three quarters of a lap before flipping wildly out of contention. Luckily for O’Brien, he emerged from the upturned race car unhurt.

Following the top three home was Peter Granger followed by Tory Carey, Luke Sayre, Jason Bates who came from the B-Main, Sean Dicker, Mark Blyton and Darryl Marshall rounded out the top ten.

Eleventh home was Kyle Angel followed by Harley Smee, Kyle Mock, Brian Briton, Jamison Blyton, Jason Martin, Jamie Dicker and Andrew Seery was the final finisher.

Non-finishers were Blake Darcy, Zac Pacchiarotta, Ashleigh Jack, Sean Mayo, Jake Ionn and Leighton O’Brien.

Earlier in the night ten heat races were run. Wins went to Sean Mayo, Drew Hillman, Dean Thomas, Zac Pacchiarotta, Jason Davis, Mitchell O’Brien, Jamison Blyton, Daniel Flood, Darryl Marshall and Peter Granger.

B-Main one was taken out by Jamie Dicker from Jamison Blyton, Kyle Mock and Andrew Seery. B-Main two was a win for Jason Bates from Kyle Angel, Jake Ionn and Ashleigh Jack.

As mentioned, Leighton O’Brien was top points after the heats and drew an inverted four for the main event.

The NSW Wingless Sprints are back in action on Thursday night, December 28 at Valvoline Raceway for the next round of the Club Championship.

Another big field is expected as the Australian Title rolls closer.

Mark Blyton holds onto a slim points lead in the Club Championship heading into the next event.

  1. Mark Blyton – 1064
  2. Peter Granger – 1059
  3. Jason Bates – 1047
  4. Luke Sayre – 1010
  5. Harley Smee – 1003
Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search