After the interstate invaders proved too strong in last season’s Northern Territory Wingless Sprint Title, the Top End locals will be leaving nothing in the tank as they attempt to wrest the crown back from their rivals in the 2018 running of the event during Friday and Saturday night’s doubleheader at Darwin’s Northline Speedway.

Not only did NSW-based driver Troy Carey claim top NT Title honours, last season’s running of the event saw NSW assert total domination over the podium, with drivers from the state achieving a top-three clean sweep. This time hoping to capitalise on their home track advantage, a sturdy field of local drivers certainly won’t make it easy for the visitors.

Photo: Nakita Pollock Photography

No doubt one of the favourites after being last season’s highest-placed NT-based driver in seventh, Sean Tiedeman, who recently picked up a feature-race win at Northline Speedway, is out to prove himself when he takes to the track, as will Brett Sommerville, who is the only other local driver amongst this season’s field who greeted the chequered flag in the previous NT Title.

Contesting his maiden NT Title last season, ex-Speedway Kart racer Darrin Uniacke is hoping that his added experience will pay off this season and deliver him with a competitive qualifying result in order to give him the best possible chance in the NT Title-deciding feature race, while Jarrod Garraway knows just what it takes to win feature races and will once again attempt to put this knowledge into practice.

Former Sprintcar driver Jamie McInnes will also be one to watch after tasting success earlier this season, as will regular front-runner Josh Norman, comeback racer Jarrod Goldoni and newcomer Tyson Newcombe.

Leading the charge for the interstaters will no doubt be defending NT Champion Troy Carey, who consistently runs towards the pointy end of the field throughout his home state and has previously proven that he knows how best to navigate the 400-metre clay track.

However, Carey won’t have it all his own way, with good friend and recently-crowned Darwin Champion Nathan Dicker also nominated. Following his dominant Darwin Title win, which began with Dicker coming out on top of a battle with Carey, Dicker is in solid form and is no doubt a front-running contender.

Completing the NSW nominations is Jason Davis, who has picked up a feature-race win earlier this season, while South Australian Brent Fox completes the interstate line up.

Following scrutineering at the track on Friday, the NT Title format will see drivers contest two heat races and a preliminary feature race on the opening night of competition, followed by the final two heat races and the 35-lap NT Title-deciding feature race on the Saturday night.

For more information about the AWSR, visit their website at or LIKE them on Facebook or follow them on Instagram or Twitter by searching Australian Wingless Sprint Racing.

NT Wingless Sprint Title Nominations:

NT4 Sean Tiedeman

N4 Jason Davis

NT6 Brett Sommerville

NT14 Jarrod Garraway

NT18 Josh Norman

NT41 Jamie McInnes

N45 Troy Carey

NX45 Nathan Dicker

NT74 Darrin Uniacke

NT75 Tyson Newcombe

NT81 Jarrod Goldoni

S91 Brent Fox

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search