The Australia Day long weekend is gearing up to be a massive one for the WA Wingless Sprints, who are set to contest their Western Australian Title, which incorporates the Des Nash Memorial, at Kalgoorlie International Speedway this Saturday and Sunday night.

With a strong field of over 20 drivers in attendance, it’s anyone’s guess who will clinch the state title honours, but after storming to a convincing victory in last season’s running of the event, all eyes will be on defending champion Matthew Iwanow as he attempts to score back-to-back wins.

Photo: Peter Roebuck

Making a cameo appearance aboard the Trevor Jolly-owned WA # 18 car former Wingless Sprint regular and three-time champion of the event Tom Payet is sure to keep things interesting, particularly seeing as though it was Iwanow who denied him of adding a fourth Western Australian Title to his resume last season.

Both Pittard Racing teammates Chad Pittard and Ash Hounsfield have tasted feature-race success this season and they will be likely contenders to take the fight to Iwanow and Payet. With Hounsfield placing fifth in last season’s running of the event ahead of Pittard in seventh, the drivers will be looking to share the podium following Sunday night’s feature race.

Having greeted the podium on numerous occasions this season, including an early feature-race win at Narrogin Speedway back in October, fast-paced Brendon Wedge will be looking to deliver a consistent run throughout qualifying in order to start towards the front of the feature-race field, as will Kwinana Cup winner Nathan Walton.

Racking up no less than six podium finishes this season, one of which included a feature-race victory at the Perth Motorplex, Daran Humfrey can’t be discounted, along with former WA # 3 Matthew Fellowes, who be hoping to crack into the podium positions.

Mixing it with Hounsfield and Humfrey earlier in the season, both Brad Fitzgerald and Brad Taylor will be vying for a top-five position, as will Cameron Holla and David Worrall.

Other nominations include Alex Robinson, Blair Goodall, Tommy Britton, Jake Robinson, James Bissaker, Tyson Bryden, Cody Dobinson, Travis Sharpe, Street Stock racer Hamish Macalpine, Mathew Burston and Warren Hunter.

The Western Australian Title format will see drivers contest two rounds of 10-lap heat races and a 30-lap preliminary feature race on Saturday night, before contesting the final two rounds of heat races and the 30-lap Western Australian Title-deciding feature race on Sunday night.

For more information on the AWSR, visit their website at or LIKE them on Facebook or Follow them on Instagram and Twitter by searching Australian Wingless Sprint Racing.

2018-19 Season WA Title Nominations:

W1 Matthew Iwanow

W5 Brad Fitzgerald

W6 Alex Robinson

W7 Blair Goodall

W9 Tommy Britton

W11 Cameron Holla

W12 Jake Robinson

W13 James Bissaker

W17 Brad Taylor

W18 Tom Payet

W29 Chad Pittard

W31 David Worrall

W44 Tyson Bryden

W47 Cody Dobinson

W56 Brendon Wedge

W58 Travis Sharpe

W78 Mathew Fellowes

W80 Hamish Macalpine

W81 Nathan Walton

W84 Daran Humfrey

W91 Mathew Burston

W94 Warren Hunter

W95 Ash Hounsfield

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search