This weekend’s Australian Wingless Sprints Championship at Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway will see a six-strong South Australian line-up of drivers attempt to do their state proud, as defending champion Joel Chadwick leads them into battle.

Despite limited Valvoline Raceway experience, all eyes will be on Chadwick, when the current South Australian Champion attempts to retain the Australian Champion mantle, after scoring an impressive victory in last season’s running of the event at Carrick Speedway in Tasmania.

Joel Chadwick Aus 1 - Gary Reid cropped

Photo: Gary Reid

With three feature-race wins to his name this season, after a late start to his season as he concentrated on his cycle speedway competition where he claimed both the World and Australian Titles, it’s clear that Chadwick will be a leading contender. Chadwick was the sole South Australian representative in the recent NSW Title at Valvoline Raceway, coming away with a 10th-place finish from the back of the field after a difficult run through the qualifying events, which included being innocently involved in a crash.

Having experienced some local success in recent seasons, Anthony Tapley will be one to watch, having so far enjoyed pleasing form this season with a feature-race win and three runner-up finishes, as will Spencer Taylor, who has also performed well on the local scene, and Mount Gambier’s Mitchell Broome, who travelled interstate to Victoria earlier this season to compete in the three-round Summer Slam Series.

Completing the South Australian field are Mildura, Victoria-based but South Australian registered Beasley brothers, Brad and Travis, who are aiming to make a good account of themselves throughout the Australian Championship weekend.

The Australian Championship will be held over three nights, beginning on Thursday (February 1) with scrutineering during the day and the Calcutta at night. The following night (February 2) will see drivers hit the track to contest hot laps, three rounds of heat races and a preliminary feature race, with the fourth and final round of heat races, the D main, C main, B main and the Australian Championship-deciding feature race to be held on the Saturday night (February 3).

To find out more about the Australian Championship, contact Mick Parry on 0423 548 622.

For more information on the AWSR, visit their website at or LIKE them on Facebook or Follow them on Instagram and Twitter by searching Australian Wingless Sprint Racing.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search