Joining a whopping field of 94 mainland drivers, two Tasmanian representatives are gearing up to make the trip across the Bass Strait to Sydney’s Valvoline Raceway, where they will fly the flag for their state in the Australian Wingless Sprints Championship.

Visiting the mainland for just the second time in his speedway career, having competed in the 2012 Australian Lightning Spring Title at Murray Bridge Speedway in South Australia, Luke Redpath will no doubt leave nothing in the tank when he visits the premier Sydney venue this weekend, as he attempts to go one better than last season’s effort, after coming home in the runner-up spot at Carrick Speedway in his home state behind South Australian Joel Chadwick.

Luke Redpath - Angryman Photography cropped

Photo: Angryman Photography

The racer from Sassafras in Tasmania’s north-west, who took out the 2016-17 Tasmanian Title just a fortnight after his pleasing Australian Championship result, is a solid chance to win this season’s running of the event, knowing exactly how to handle the added pressure of a title event and already having five feature-race wins to his name this season.

Joining Redpath will be Hobart’s Bradley Walkley, who has already ventured from the Apple Isle to the mainland this season, travelling to Victoria recently to participate in the three-round Summer Slam Series where he placed a competitive sixth overall amongst a large field of drivers, many of whom will also be contesting the Australian Championship.

After a challenging run in last season’s running of the event, which resulted in a disappointing DNF, followed by another DNF in the Tasmanian Title a fortnight later, Walkley will be hoping to make amends when he takes to the Sydney track, with a consistent qualifying result being the key towards a competitive weekend.

The Australian Championship will be held over three nights, beginning on Thursday (February 1) with scrutineering during the day and the Calcutta at night. The following night (February 2) will see drivers hit the track to contest hot laps, three rounds of heat races and a preliminary feature race, with the fourth and final round of heat races, the D main, C main, B main and the Australian Championship-deciding feature race to be held on the Saturday night (February 3).

To find out more about the Australian Championship, contact Mick Parry on 0423 548 622.

For more information on the AWSR, visit their website at or LIKE them on Facebook or Follow them on Instagram and Twitter by searching Australian Wingless Sprint Racing.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search