The Victorian Wingless Sprints contested their rescheduled Gold Cup at Laang Speedway last Saturday night and it was Michael McDonald who clinched the win, after leading from start to finish on what was a challenging track.

Qualifying in pole position for the 15-lap feature race, by virtue of his solid performance throughout the heat races, which saw him collect two wins, the 21-year-old Warrnambool-based racer, who won the 2014 Victorian Super Rod Title, immediately took the lead at the drop of the green flag. Driving a composed race, McDonald survived a restart and managed to navigate heavy lapped traffic to take the win.

000 - Michael McDonald AWSR

Photo: Corey Gibson Photography

After starting third, Carly Walsh was able to go one better, battling for position with Mick Uebergang and coming home in the runner-up spot. A great drive from Ebony Hobson saw her power through the field from position eight to claim the final podium place, having pipped Uebergang, who was forced to finish just off the podium in fourth, after starting the feature race on the outside of the front row.

It was a disappointing night for Steven Hately, who got together with another car in the opening laps, resulting in the race’s only stoppage, which brought his run to a premature end.

Earlier in the night, the heat-race wins were awarded to McDonald (x 2), Uebergang, Bhoe Paterson, Hobson and Walsh.

The next appearance for the Wingless Sprints in Victoria will be this Sunday’s club show at Nyora Raceway, which will also include the second and final round of the Salt Electrical supported Ladies Race.

For more information about the Victorian Wingless Sprints, visit their website at You can also LIKE them on Facebook or FOLLOW them on Twitter by searching Victorian AWSR Wingless Sprintcars.

Contact Us

We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.

Start typing and press Enter to search